The Margot Award


Margot Seitelman, the first Executive Director of American Mensa, was the first recipient of the award named for her. She received the Margot Award on June 28, 1980, at the San Francisco Annual Gathering in recognition of "19 years of outstanding service." The award has been bestowed periodically since that time.

The board of directors ratified creation of the Margot Award on Nov. 29, 1980. In March 1988, the criteria for the Margot was changed and the award is now bestowed "for the rendering of exceptional service to Mensa for a number of years."

The Margot was specifically assigned to the Board to award. Please contact a board member if you have a recommendation.

Margot Award recipients

Russ Bakke

Gary "Skinner" Porter

Dr. Francis A. Cartier, Jr.

Velma Jeremiah

Dave Remine

Darlene Criss

Dave Felt

Helen Kupper

Hans G. Frommer

Gabriel Werba

Harper Fowley

Charles M. Fallon

Abbie F. Salny

Marvin Grosswirth

Margot Seitelman

July 1, 2016

April 18, 2013

July 2, 2011

July 2, 2011

July 10, 2004

July 6, 2001

July 4, 1998

 July 9, 1995

July 4, 1993

July 1, 1989

July 1, 1989

July 2, 1988

June 23, 1985

  Nov. 12, 1983

June 28, 1980