Recognizing hard work,
knowledge and creativity

American Mensa's awards program recognizes, hard work, knowledge and creativityOn Oct. 5, 1970, Marvin Grosswirth, chairman of the Public Relations Committee, proposed that a "Mensan of the Year" award be presented annually to the Mensan who had contributed most significantly to the betterment of Mensa.  The motion passed, and Arthur Merrill was appointed as this newly-formed Award Committee's first chairman. 

Since that time, American Mensa and the Mensa Education and Research Foundation have developed a number of award programs to recognize members, Local Groups and scholarship recipients.  We have Life Membership awards, Group of the Year, the Copper Black Award for Creativity and many others.

Today, American Mensa has a number of awards that recognize hard work, knowledge and creativity. From community service to esoteric cultural knowledge, from writing groundbreaking essays to creating a l33t home page — awards are presented annually recognizing those individuals and groups who shine brighter in their efforts.

Foundation awards

The Mensa Foundation conducts several awards programs designed to recognize the research and support of intelligence.

Tags: Mensa Foundation, awards, Excellence in Research, Copper Black, Distinguished Teacher, Intellectual Benefits, Lifetime Achievement, scholarships
Group awards

American Mensa offers a number of awards each year to Local Groups, officers and volunteers in recognition of their achievements on behalf of their groups.

Tags: awards, Local Group, officers, volunteers, achievements, publications, community activities, CultureQuest, Group of the Year, Owl awards
National awards

American Mensa presents a wide variety of awards recognizing individual members for their contributions to the organization on a national level. These awards are presented every year at the Awards Luncheon at the Annual Gathering.

Tags: awards, recognition, individuals, Chairman's Service, Distinguished Service, Gifted Youth Programming, Lifetime Membership, the Margot, National Appreciation, National Service, Proctor of the Year, the Abbie