American Mensa Header

American Mensa Committee

The American Mensa Committee is American Mensa's board of directors.

The 15 voting members of the AMC include the Chair; First and Second Vice Chairs; Secretary; Treasurer; and 10 Regional Vice Chairs. The board also includes four key appointees: Communications, Membership, and Marketing Officers; and the Director of Science and Education.

A seat on the AMC is both a privilege and a responsibility, as members of the board have the duties of carrying out the corporation's business, setting its policies and priorities, and determining its financial commitments. Their votes on motions are binding on the corporation and, hence, affect every member, Local Group and Special Interest Group of American Mensa.

AMC officers represent their constituencies; the Regional Vice Chairs represent their regions and, for example, the Communications Officer represents Local Group Editors and Webmasters. Ultimately, each board member's role must represent his or her best individual decisions for the benefit of Mensa as a whole, in addition to the needs of his or her constituents.

The information provided in this area is designed to help the AMC and its appointees conduct the business of American Mensa. AMC officers also have a number of support services available to them through the National Office.

View AMC Contacts