American Mensa Header

The Margot Award

Margot Seitelman, American Mensa’s first Executive Director, was the first recipient of the award named for her. She received the Margot Award on June 28, 1980, at the San Francisco Annual Gathering in recognition of “19 years of outstanding service.” The award has been bestowed periodically since that time.

The American Mensa Committee ratified creation of the Margot Award on Nov. 29, 1980. In March 1988, the criteria for the Margot was changed, and the award is now bestowed “for the rendering of exceptional service to Mensa for a number of years.”

The Margot was specifically assigned to the American Mensa Committee to award. Please contact a board member if you you’d like to recommend a nomination.

Margot Award Recipients

Recipient Date
Beth Weiss July 8, 2022
Jean Becker Aug. 18, 2020
Robin Crawford July 6, 2019
Arthur E. Mattson July 7, 2018
Dr. Abbie Salny July 7, 2018
Marc Lederman July 3, 2017
Russ Bakke July 1, 2016
Gary “Skinner” Porter April 18, 2013
Dr. Francis A. Cartier, Jr. July 2, 2011
Velma Jeremiah July 2, 2011
Dave Remine July 10, 2004
Darlene Criss July 6, 2001
Dave Felt July 4, 1998
Helen Kupper July 9, 1995
Hans G. Frommer July 4, 1993
Gabriel Werba July 1, 1989
Harper Fowley July 1, 1989
Charles M. Fallon July 2, 1988
Abbie F. Salny June 23, 1985
Marvin Grosswirth Nov. 12, 1983
Margot Seitelman June 28, 1980